Theres been a lot of time between the summer bliss of kisses and the sting of watching you walk away,

A lot of time between the silence that has carried on for days. Time for moving on and getting over,

Time for waiting for the leaves of clover,

When you said you’d say “it isnt over.”

But it really is, and I see that its true

But I still don’t know how to be me without you. Even after all these deep breaths, as the summer turns to fall,

It’s as if every single day, I can so clearly remember it all.

It isn’t fair to you, that my soul still reaches back. I know it’s less than cute to you when your freedom feels attacked.

But every day reminds me of the love I used to know, and every day with God I must decide to weep or grow.

And I never understand why it’s so hard to let you go, and I wonder why I love you with a love you’ll never know.

Leave a comment